No slip ups from Joes as they progress

st josephs progress intermediate championship

VGC Group IFC Grp A

St Josephs 3-15
St Anthonys 0-4

By Damian Dolan
At Greenford

No slip ups from St Josephs as they comfortably saw-off St Anthonys to book a place in this year’s Intermediate Championship semi-finals.

Joes went into the game knowing that victory was all they needed to progress, having seen Tara go down to Harlesden Harps, and they did exactly that without too much alarm from the moment Gary Gillespie found the net in the 13th minute.

Anthonys had had the audacity to strike first, through Brendan Troy, with Joes showing a few early nerves. What was at stake was clearly not lost on them.

James Gartlan levelled but by the eighth minute the sides were still locked together. Despite having nothing to gain, the Reading club were proving an obstinate foe.

Joes then hit Anthonys with a quick-fire burst of three points in as many minutes – Alan Griffin, Niall McAlynn and Shane King all on target – before Tara’s hopes of a favour from Anthonys were effectively extinguished.

st josephs progress intermediate championship

Moving the ball nicely between the hands, Joes worked it to Gillespie in space, and he cut inside before burying it past Emmet Garvey. It should have been the cue for Joes to take control and pull away, but Anthonys fought back.

The Reading side replied immediately as Conor Hallasey turned Liam McGovern’s stinging shot over his own bar, with Jonathan Lynne-Roberts adding a free.

Garvey was lucky not to concede when Eamon McGovern’s shot nearly slipped between his legs and into the back of the Anthonys’ net, but that would have been cruel fortune on the Reading outfit who were making a real game of it, with Joes having failed to build on Gillespie’s goal.

Pick up a copy of this week’s Irish World to read the full match report

St Josephs: Conor Hallasey; Liam Clifford, Tomas Stenson, Damien Manahoe; Mark Porter, Gearoid Holland (0-2), James Cooper (0-1); James Gartlan (0-1), Declan O’Loughlin; Alan Griffin (0-1), Eamon McGovern (0-3), Niall McAlynn (0-1); Gary Gillespie (1-2), Shane Ruane (1-2, 1f), Shane King (0-2). Subs: Paddy Loughlin for McAlynn, Peirce McGirr (1-0) for Griffin, Brian Cocoman for Ruane.

St Anthonys: Emmet Garvey; Anthony McGrath, Maurice O’Connell, Michael Laffey; Joseph Newton, Enda McBrien, David Casey; Colm Sullivan (0-1), Philip McCabe; Eoghan Collins, Liam McGovern (0-1), Christopher Gillen; Jonathan Lynne-Roberts (0-1f), Brendan Troy, Eoin O’Connell (0-1).

You might also be interested in this article

Unbeaten Harps advance to semis as Tara bow out

Register now to keep up to date with all the latest:

  • Irish News
  • Sport
  • Community and Entertainment

Sign up to our Newsletter to be in with a chance to win a snazzy iPad and for all the latest...

  • Email updates
  • Regular features
  • Competitions and give aways