More silverware for Robert Emmetts

silverware Robert Emmetts st gabriels ryan cup final

Cara Stationery Ryan Cup Final

Robert Emmetts 1-15
St Gabriels 0-08

By Damian Dolan
At Greenford

Robert Emmetts warmed up for the final round of the Senior Championship by adding the Ryan Cup to the Collins Cup and Division 1 trophy already on display in the club’s trophy cabinet.

Mick Dwyer’s first half goal set Emmetts on the road to victory, despite Gabriels having first use of strong wind at Greenford on Sunday.

Dwyer’s strike saw Emmetts open up a five-point lead and Gabriels lacked the firepower to close the gap, with Emmetts able to use the wind in the second half to widen their lead.

In the end, it was a comfortable win for Emmetts. Three trophies in the bag, they’ll now be looking to add the senior title, and in doing so make it three championships in a row.

Neil Rogers wasted little time in giving Gabriels the lead, with the wind at their backs, but Emmetts replied with scores from Ritchie Murphy (free) and Alan O’Leary.

silverware Robert Emmetts st gabriels ryan cup final

Murphy picked out the run of Michael O’Laochdha only for James Barrett to save smartly, while Sean Ryan pulled off a fine instinctive save at the other end. O’Leary was unlucky to see his shot come back off Barrett’s crossbar.

Barrett was getting huge distance with his puckouts thanks to the wind, and he showed his accuracy from placed balls to keep Gabriels to land a free.

O’Laochdha’s score saw Emmetts lead 0-4 to 0-2 after nine minutes, before the game’s most significant moment arrived. Ruairí Costello played in Dwyer, and although Francis Tierney did well to block the full forward’s initial effort, Dwyer made no mistake with his second attempt to beat Barrett.

See this week’s Irish World for full match report

ROBERT EMMETTS: Sean Ryan; Mark Conroy, Conor Walsh, Stephen Griffey; Eoin Kiely, Paul Horkan, Aiden Ryan; Ruairí Costello (0-1), Daryl Roberts (0-1); Michael O’Laochdha (0-1), Ritchie Murphy (0-8, 6f), Alan O’Leary (0-2); Conor Campion (0-1), Mick Dwyer (1-1), Joe Roberts. SUBS: Fergus McMahon for Joe Roberts, Brendan Naylor for Dwyer.

ST GABRIELS: James Barrett (0-2f); Fergus Fahy, Francis Tierney, Cathal O’Kane; Michael Coady, Daragh Skehill, Eoin Pierce; David Nolan (0-1), Ronan Royston; Barry Devine (0-2), Neil Rogers (0-2f), David O’Gorman; Kevin Coen, Chris Maloney (0-1), Eoin Tuohy. SUBS: John McGrath for Skehill.

You might also be interested in this article

Mayo must ‘do or die’ against Dublin

Register now to keep up to date with all the latest:

  • Irish News
  • Sport
  • Community and Entertainment

Sign up to our Newsletter to be in with a chance to win a snazzy iPad and for all the latest...

  • Email updates
  • Regular features
  • Competitions and give aways