Rugby: Historic first Irish victory in South Africa

Rugby: Historic first Irish victory South Africa
Rugby: Historic first Irish victory in South Africa: Conor Murray scores Ireland’s second try. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

We’re treating you to some facts, feedback and a shed-load of photos from Ireland’s historic win over the Springboks

Ireland met South Africa this weekend in the first of three matches to be played in a tour of the Springboks’ hunting grounds. Their victory was especially outstanding due to them missing some serious players including Johnny Sexton and the Kearney brothers. Their injury weakened side was further challenged when a red card for CJ Stander and Robbie Henshaw’s sin-binning meant they played a portion of the game with just 13 men.

Paddy Jackson and Devin Toner showed character and resilience throughout and a legendary defence from Ireland kept the Springboks at bay.

In the final throws, JP Pietersen rushed for a corner try, but a combination of Payne, Henshaw and Jackson forced him into touch as Ireland hung on to win.

South Africa (13) 20
Tries: Mvovo, Du Toit Cons: Jantjies 2 Pens: Lambie, Jantjies

Ireland (13) 26
Tries: Payne, Murray Cons: Jackson 2 Pens: Jackson 3 Drop Goal: Jackson

Previous stats:
Head-to-Head: Played 22. Ireland 5 wins, 1 draw, South Africa 16 wins.
Biggest Wins: Ireland _ 32-15 (, Lansdowne Road 2006). South Africa _ 38-0 (Lansdowne Road 1912).
Last five meetings: (2006) Ireland 32 South Africa 15, Lansdowne Road. (2009) Ireland 15 South Africa 10, Croke Park. (2010) Ireland 21 South Africa 23, Aviva Stadium. (2012) Ireland 12 South Africa 16, Aviva Stadium. (2014) Ireland 29 South Africa 15, Aviva Stadium.

Response from the captains:

Ireland captain Rory Best: “We knew to come here and get a victory would be unbelievably tough and require a massive physical performance.

“We dug really deep to get that win. If we had sat back and kept giving them ball we would have eventually run out of steam, so we had to take the game to them. There are a lot of tired boys who are running on empty now after the euphoria of the win.”

South Africa captain Adriaan Strauss: “We had our chances. Our discipline let us down.

“Every time we had the ball we lost it with unforced errors or gave away a penalty. There were easy mistakes which cost us.”

Response from coach Joe Schmidt:

“It’s pretty hard to put into words really. I thought it was an incredible collective effort. The nine minutes before half-time when we were down to 13 players, to just put them out in the corner, just to scramble and work as hard as the players did to keep them out.

“There was almost a direct repeat at the end of the second half again. To their attacking left-hand corner, we managed to scramble across and three for four players turned up to avoid the try being scored.

“For the players, I think they can be incredibly proud of the effort they put in.”

Check out our gallery of pics from the match, courtesy of Sportsfile:


Read our match preview here:

South African tour daunting prospect for Ireland

Full Line-up:

SOUTH AFRICA: Willie le Roux (Cell C Sharks); JP Pietersen (Cell C Sharks), Lionel Mapoe (Emirates Lions), Damian De Allende (DHL Stormers), Lwazi Mvovo (Cell C Sharks); Pat Lambie (Cell C Sharks), Faf de Klerk (Emirates Lions); Tendai Mtawarira (Cell C Sharks), Adriaan Strauss (Vodacom Bulls) (capt), Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers), Eben Etzebeth (DHL Stormers), Lood de Jager (Toyota Cheetahs), Francois Louw (Bath), Siya Kolisi (DHL Stormers), Duane Vermeulen (Toulon).

Replacements: Bongi Mbonambi (DHL Stormers), Trevor Nyakane (Vodacom Bulls), Julian Redelinghuys (Emirates Lions), Pieter-Steph du Toit (DHL Stormers), Warren Whiteley (Emirates Lions), Rudy Paige (Vodacom Bulls), Elton Jantjies (Emirates Lions), Jesse Kriel (Vodacom Bulls).

IRELAND: Jared Payne (Ulster); Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster), Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht), Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster), Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster); Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster), Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster); Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) (capt), Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster), Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster), CJ Stander (Munster), Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster).

Replacements: Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), Finlay Bealham (Corintians/Connacht), Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster), Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht), Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht), Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster), Craig Gilroy (Bangor/Ulster).


Sign in or create your account to join the discussion

Register now to keep up to date with all the latest:

  • Irish News
  • Sport
  • Community and Entertainment

Sign up to our Newsletter to be in with a chance to win a snazzy iPad and for all the latest...

  • Email updates
  • Regular features
  • Competitions and give aways