London Masters give mighty Mayo a scare

London Masters mighty Mayo scare

Masters Championship

London 1-07
Mayo 1-09

By Fiona O’Brien
at Greenford

London just missed out on an All Ireland Masters championship win over Mayo, as they lost by two points in Greenford after leading the game for long periods in an entertaining encounter.

Mayo opened the scoring through Shane Sweeney, after being set up by Kevin Malone, before London began to dominate territory up in Mayo’s half.

Dillane pointed a free before adding one from play just a minute later before, in a move straight from the training ground, a short 45 was played to Connor Mone who had enough space to run in on goal to get his optimum angle or a classy score.

Anthony Gleeson did well rom the next free to hold on and time Dillane’s run to the right corner to perfection and he half-forward made no mistake in passing back to free man Chris Byrne for the next score and a three point lead.

London Masters mighty Mayo scare

Mayo pulled two back through full-forward Kevin Malone, from his left and right, before they equalised through a Kevin Filan free.

Dillane took the lead once more through a superb free hat swerved in to the far post, but Mayo went ahead just before the break as they scored a goal against the run of play.

Malone did well to set up Shane Sweeney in space, and the corner forward put in a dangerous ball across the face of goal that allowed Adrian Forkan to connect with the ball to beat Ciaran McGann.

Pick up a copy of this week’s Irish World to read the full match report

LONDON: Ciaran McGann, Michael Liston, Anthony Gleeson, Kevin Killen, Connor Mone (0-1), Neil O’Shea, Paul Mullins, Eamon Brennan, Bernie McMenneman, Dave Byrne, Fergal Cunningham, Aidan Dillane (0-2, 1f), David Cannon, Chris Byrne (1-2), Noel Dunning.

ROLLING SUBS: Noel Ribbon, Andy Redican, Martin McMenamon, Eddie McGuigan, Tim Slattery, Finnian O’Dowd, Brendan Boyle, Alan Murray, Oliver Sheehy, Brendan Dolan, Paddy McHale, Paul Coggins, Darren Howlin, Colm Foody (0-1, 1f), Mort Reidy.

MAYO: Darren Madden, Brian Hughes, Ken Mortimer, Declan Ryan, Brian Hennelly, Russell Gibbons, Kieran Lavelle, Declan Sweeney (0-2), Aidan Higgins (0-1), Adrian Forkan (1- 1), Jimmy Byrne, James Gillespie, Shane Sweeney (0- 1), Kevin Malone (0-2), Kevin Filan (0-1,1f).

ROLLING SUBS: Eugene O’Toole, Dermot Higgins (0-1), JP Sheridan, Brendan Horan, Ted Walsh.

You might also be interested in this article

McGirr seals championship for McCurtains

Register now to keep up to date with all the latest:

  • Irish News
  • Sport
  • Community and Entertainment

Sign up to our Newsletter to be in with a chance to win a snazzy iPad and for all the latest...

  • Email updates
  • Regular features
  • Competitions and give aways