London GAA: Gaels young guns up and running

London GAA Gaels young guns

Toureen Group JFC Group A

Tir Chonail Gaels: 2-11
Thomas McCurtains: 1-9

By Damian Dolan

Tir Chonaill Gaels are up and running in this year’s Junior Championship after an entertaining encounter with Thomas McCurtains at Greenford.

There was nothing to choose between the sides after 27 minutes with the scores locked at 0-3 apiece, but last year’s Junior Championship runners up produced a strong finish to the first half to put some daylight between the teams on the scoreboard.

Rory Jennings and Liam Cunningham (free) both pointed, as the Gaels restored the two-point lead they’d enjoyed early on in this contest. From the kick-out following Liam Cunningham’s strike, excellent pressure by the Gaels forced a free and Liam Cunningham fired over again.

London GAA Gaels young guns

And there was just enough time left for the Greenford side to fashion another score, through Ryan Elliott, to take a 0-7 to 0-3 lead into half-time.

Elliott’s strike capped a fine finish to the half by the Gaels, but better was to come from Paul Coggins’ side against a McCurtains team who won league Division 3 just six days earlier at Mc- Govern Park.

For full match report, pick up your copy of The Irish World

TIR CHONAILL GAELS: Eoin Higgins; Jack Elliott, Brendan Rice, Billy Forshaw; Ollie Hayes, Rory Jennings (1- 2), Ryan Kearney (0-1); Pat Flynn (0-1), Conor McCarthy; Donal Geraghty, Ewan Vasallo, Liam Cunningham (0-3, 2f), Patrick O’Connor, Ryan Elliott (1-2, 1f), Ciaran Cunningham (0-1). Subs: Gearoid Doherty (0-1f) for Ciaran Cunningham, Jack Nolan for Forshaw, Kieran Clarke for Liam Cunningham, Brendan Scanllon for Hayes, Francis McGinley for Jennings, Mark Woods for Geraghty.

THOMAS MCCURTAINS: Conor Mulrennan; Michael O’Leary, Kevin Delhaunty (0-1), Tom Lynagh; Conor Smyth, Brian Hourihane, Richard Ellis; Tom Clark, Paddy O’Neill; Stephen Quinn, Niall Coffey (1-5, 3f, 1×45), Gerry Flynn; Mark Gilsenan, Conor Murphy (0- 1), Paddy Halligan (0-2f). Subs: James Searson for O’Neill, Caomhan Joyce for O’Leary, Tom Keane for Gilsenan.

You may also like:

Gavin hails “controlled and composed” Dubs

Register now to keep up to date with all the latest:

  • Irish News
  • Sport
  • Community and Entertainment

Sign up to our Newsletter to be in with a chance to win a snazzy iPad and for all the latest...

  • Email updates
  • Regular features
  • Competitions and give aways