Late, late show puts Tir Chonaill Gaels top

Late late show puts Tir Chonaill Gaels top
Tir Chonaill Gaels’ Liam Gavaghan scored 0-5 (4f) in the win over Kingdom Kerry Gaels

Cityjet Senior Football Championship

Tir Chonail Gaels 1-13
Kingdom Kerry Gaels 1-10

By Ruari O’Connor
at Greenford

Tir Chonaill Gaels edged past Kingdom Kerry Gaels, on Saturday, in an encounter that was much closer than the final score indicated.

The first minutes of the game were dominated by the Kingdom, using the slight slope to their advantage in the early stages, with two early points from David and Daniel O’Sullivan setting the pace.

A free scored by Tir Chonaill captain Liam Gavaghan looked to stem the tide, but their efforts to get back in the game were hampered by an 8th minute black card to full back Shaun Burke for a strong body check on David O’Sullivan, who looked extremely dangerous early on.

TCG survived the early onslaught and looked to get a foothold in the game and controlled possession after the first 10 minutes, but did not look as if they were going to penetrate a strong willed KKG defence that set up across their own 45 metre line.

Three-point cushion

David O’Sullivan converted two more frees and gave KKG a three-point cushion after the first 20 minutes.

However, after going behind by three, TCG seemed to up their work rate and an increase in quality followed.

A 45 and long range free from Mark Gottsche brought TCG back to within one and swung the momentum in the match towards them for the first time in the contest.

Another two quickfire points from Niall Garland and Ryan Elliot, both down to errors by KKG around the 28-minute mark, pushed TCG into their first lead of the game and it was a lead they did not surrender.

Pick up a copy of this week’s Irish World to read the full match report

TIR CHONAILL GAELS: Gavin McEvoy, Michael McWilliams, Shaun Burke, Gerry Geraghty, Marty McCoy, Ronan Breen, Gary McGee, Brendan Friel, Mark Gottsche (0-2, 1 45’, 1f), Kevin Rafferty, Liam Gavaghan (0-5, 4f), Adam Askin, Niall Garland, Ryan Elliot (0-3), Killian Butler (0-2). SUBS: Phil Butler, Aidan McGarvey (1-0), Conor McCarthy.

KINGDOM KERRY GAELS: Dan McDonagh, Keith Sheehan, Chris O’Sullivan, Conor O’Neill, Michael Jennings, Marcus Mangan, Cian Griffin, James Coffey (0-1), Kevin O’Sullivan, Kevin Breen (0-1, 1f), Anto Daley, Stephen Kilcoyne (0-1, 1f), Daniel O’Sullivan (0-2), David O’Sullivan (0-4, 3f), Alan O’Leary.

You might also be interested in this article

McGirr seals championship for McCurtains

Register now to keep up to date with all the latest:

  • Irish News
  • Sport
  • Community and Entertainment

Sign up to our Newsletter to be in with a chance to win a snazzy iPad and for all the latest...

  • Email updates
  • Regular features
  • Competitions and give aways