Ladies Player of the Year Award

Ladies Player of the Year Award - Rosanna Heeney
Scotland captain Rosanna Heeney is up for a prestigious Ladies Gaelic Football Association award after her efforts against her home county in the All Ireland final this year.

The Louth native, who lost in two finals with her home county previous to this year’s Junior final, is also in preparation for her club side’s, Dunedin Connollys, All-Ireland Intermediate Quarter Final against Galway and Connaught champions Glenamaddy-Williamstown this Saturday.

She will learn her fate for the LGFA TG4 Player’s Player of the Year award at the LGFA TG4 All Star Awards at the Citywest Hotel on November 14.

Her club said: “A worthy recognition of her performances throughout the year and an amazing personal achievement. Best of luck Rosie from all the kids, parents and coaches in Dunedin Og.”

Ladies Player of the Year Award - Rosanna Heeney

There are three categories; Junior, Intermediate and Senior with three players nominated in each category. The nominees were voted for by their fellow players who could not vote for anyone on the same team in which they play themselves.

In the Junior Player’s Player of the Year category there is a unique situation as even though all three players are from Louth, Heeney did not represent them in the championship. TG4 Player of the Match from the All Ireland final, Paula Murray is also nominated along with team mate and ace attacker Kate Flood.

Waterford claimed the TG4 Intermediate All Ireland Championship this year and are rewarded with two nominations including captain, Linda Wall and her sister and All Ireland final goalscorer, Aileen Wall. Despite not reaching the final Áine Tighe from Leitrim has been recognised for another excellent season as she is also nominated for the Player’s Player of the Year Award.

The dynamic midfield pairing for Cork of Rena Buckley and Briege Corkery round off an amazing season as both of the ‘Double Double’ winners have been nominated for the award which has previously been won by Corkery herself. Dublin’s captain and star forward, Lyndsey Davey, is recognised after another brilliant season after leading Dublin back to the All Ireland final following a series of inspirational performances.

The nominees are as follows:

2015 LGFA TG4 Junior Player’s Player of the Year Nominees

Kate Flood (Louth)
Rosanna Heeney (Scotland)
Paula Murray (Louth)

2015 LGFA TG4 Intermediate Player’s Player of the Year Nominees

Áine Tighe (Leitrim)
Aileen Wall (Waterford)
Linda Wall (Waterford)

2015 LGFA TG4 Player’s Player of the Year Nominees

Rena Buckley (Cork)
Briege Corkery (Cork)
Lyndsey Davey (Dublin)

Ulster Young Player of the Year

Róisín Devlin (Tyrone)

Munster Young Player of the Year

Faye O’Donoghue (Kerry)

Leinster Young Player of the Year

Emily Coakley (Wexford)

Connacht Young Player of the Year

Maria Reilly (Mayo)


Sign in or create your account to join the discussion

Register now to keep up to date with all the latest:

  • Irish News
  • Sport
  • Community and Entertainment

Sign up to our Newsletter to be in with a chance to win a snazzy iPad and for all the latest...

  • Email updates
  • Regular features
  • Competitions and give aways