Ladies GAA: Cork dominates Camogie and Football All Stars

Ladies GAA Cork dominates Camogie Football
25 September 2016; Rena Buckley of Cork during the Ladies Football All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final match between Cork and Dublin at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

Cork dominates both Camogie and Ladies’ Football All Stars

Ladies Football All-Stars

The TG4 Senior All Ireland champions, Cork, lead the way with 11 nominees with runners up, Dublin, receiving eight nominations. Cora Staunton could earn her 11th TG4 All Star award as she is nominated in full forward and she is joined by three of her Mayo colleagues.

Ulster Champions, Monaghan receive four nominations, the same number as Donegal whilst TG4 Intermediate champions, Kildare, receive three nominations. Cork legend Briege Corkery has already won nine TG4 All Star awards and could receive her tenth following her nomination in the middle of the field where she is joined as a nominee by her fellow 17-time All Ireland winner, Rena Buckley. There is also a great representation of nominees from the Intermediate grade as seven players are selected from that level.

Ladies GAA Cork dominates Camogie Football
13 August 2016; Cora Staunton of Mayo in action against Rebecca Dunne, centre, and Triona Durkan of Westmeath during the TG4 Ladies Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Quarter-Final game between Mayo and Westmeath at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park in Longford. Photo by Seb Daly/Sportsfile

Intermediate champions Kildare have three nominations including their team captain, Aisling Holton, All Ireland final Player of the Match; Mary Hulgraine and half forward Roisin Byrne. Runners up, Clare, are represented by Laurie Ryan and Louise Henchy with Sligo’s Noelle Gormley nominated in goal and Tipperary stalwart, Jennifer Grant, completing the shortlist.

The 2016 TG4 All Star team will be announced at the gala ball at the Citywest Hotel on November 12th along with the Junior, Intermediate and Senior Player’s Player of the Year award winners, the Provincial Young Players of the Year and the 2016 inductee into the LGFA Hall of Fame.

Camogie All-Stars

All-Ireland champions Kilkenny and finalists Cork dominate the Camogie All-Stars 2016 shortlist. Kilkenny, who won their first All-Ireland title since 1994, received 15 nominations.

Goalkeeper Emma Kavanagh, defenders Anne Dalton, Collette Dormer, Meighan Farrell, Jacqui Frisby, Edwina Keane, Claire Phelan and Davina Tobin are amongst the nominees for the Cats. Anna Farrell and Miriam Walsh have both been nominated in midfield, whilst Shelly Farrell, Denise Gaule, Julie Ann Malone, Katie Power and captain Michelle Quilty are amongst the forwards. Cork have received ten nominations. Goalkeeper and 2016 Poc Fada winner Aoife Murray, defenders Rena Buckley, Pamela Mackey, Gemma O’Connor and Laura Treacy are amongst the nominees. O’Connor is seeking an incredible 10th All- Stars Award.

Ladies GAA Cork dominates Camogie Football
11 September 2016; Michelle Quilty of Kilkenny lifts the O’Duffy Cup after the Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship Final match between Cork and Kilkenny at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

The Rebels’ captain Ashling Thompson and Orla Cotter have both been nominated at midfield whilst Briege Corkery, Hannah Looney and Katrina Mackey and are amongst the forwards. Tipperary have received five nominations; defender Aoife McGrath, midfielder Teresa Ryan and forwards Orla O’Dwyer, Mary Ryan and Nicole Walsh. National League finalists Galway have received four nominations; defenders Sarah Dervan and Rebecca Hennelly and forwards Aoife Donohue and Ailish O’Reilly.

Both Offaly and Wexford have also received four nominations. For Offaly defenders Jean Brady and Siobhán Flannery and forwards Tina Hannon and Michaela Morkan have been nominated. Wexford’s nominees include goalkeeper Mags D’Arcy, defender Sarah O’Connor in her debut season, midfielder Shelley Kehoe and forward Kate Kelly who finished the season as the top scorer in this year’s Championship with a tally of 5-49. Clare, Limerick and Waterford received one nomination each with the Banner’s Niamh O’Dea named amongst the forward line, Niamh Mulcahy named amongst the forwards for the Treaty County and Patricia Jackman of Waterford names amongst the defenders.

The 13th annual All-Stars Awards banquet sponsored by Liberty Insurance will take place in Citywest Hotel on Saturday November 5th. Tickets are priced at €75 per head.

Nominees for the Camogie Association/WGPA Senior, Intermediate and Junior Players’ Player of the Year Awards sponsored by Liberty Insurance will be announced in mid- October.



Martina O’Brien (Cork)
Mary Hulgraine (Kildare)
Noelle Gormley (Sligo)


Laurie Ryan (Clare)
Marie Ambrose (Cork)
Vera Foley (Cork)
róisín phelan (Cork)
Deirdre O’Reilly (Cork)
Bríd Stack (Cork)
Leah Caffrey (Dublin)
Olwen Carey (Dublin)
Sinead Finnegan (Dublin)
Sinead Goldrick (Dublin)
Deirdre Foley (Donegal)
Ciara Hegarty (Donegal)
Sarah Tierney (Mayo)
Aoife Mcanespie (Monaghan)
Gráinne Mcnally (Monaghan)
Jennifer Grant (Tipperary)
Linda Wall (Waterford)
Mairead Wall (Waterford)


Rena Buckley (Cork)
Briege Corkery (Cork)
Louise Henchy (Clare)
Aisling Holton (Kildare)
Fiona McHale (Mayo)
Sharon Courtney (Monaghan)


Aisling Doonan (Cavan)
Orla Finn (Cork)
Ciara O’Sullivan (Cork)
Annie Walsh (Cork)
Sinead Aherne (Dublin)
Lyndsey Davey (Dublin)
Noelle Healy (Dublin)
Carla Rowe (Dublin)
Niamh Hegarty (Donegal)
Sarah Houlihan (Kerry)
Róisín Byrne (Kildare)
Niamh Kelly (Mayo)
Cora Staunton (Mayo)
Yvonne McMonagle (Donegal)
Ciara Mcanespie (Monaghan)
Maria Delahunty (Waterford)
Aileen Wall (Waterford)
Leona Archibold (Westmeath)



Aoife Murray (Cork)
Emma Kavanagh (Kilkenny)
Mags D’arcy (Wexford)


Full-Back line: Rena Buckley
(Cork), Pamela Mackey (Cork),
Laura Treacy (Cork), Sarah Dervan
(Galway), Collette Dormer
(Kilkenny), Jacqui Frisby
(Kilkenny), Davina Tobin (Kilkenny),
Jean Brady (Offaly), Aoife McGrath

Half-Back line: Gemma O’Connor
(Cork), Rebecca Hennelly (Galway),
Anne Dalton (Kilkenny), Meighan
Farrell (Kilkenny), Edwina Keane
(Kilkenny), Claire Phelan
(Kilkenny), Siobhán Flannery
(Offaly), Patricia Jackman
(Waterford), Sarah O’Connor


Orla Cotter (Cork), Ashling
Thompson (Cork), Anna Farrell
(Kilkenny), Miriam Walsh
(Kilkenny), Teresa Ryan (Tipperary),
Shelley Kehoe (Wexford)


Half-forward line: Hannah Looney
(Cork), Niamh O’Dea (Clare), Aoife
Donohue (Galway), Denise Gaule
(Kilkenny), Julie Ann Malone
(Kilkenny), Niamh Mulcahy
(Limerick), Michaela Morkan
(Offaly), Mary Ryan (Tipperary),
Nicole Walsh (Tipperary)

Full-forward line: Briege Corkery
(Cork), Katrina Mackey (Cork),
Ailish O’Reilly (Galway), Shelly
Farrell (Kilkenny), Katie Power
(Kilkenny), Michelle Quilty
(Kilkenny), Tina Hannon (Offaly),
Orla O’Dwyer (Tipperary), Kate
Kelly (Wexford)


Mark Brennan (Carlow), Paudie
Murray (Cork), Ann Downey


Sign in or create your account to join the discussion

Register now to keep up to date with all the latest:

  • Irish News
  • Sport
  • Community and Entertainment

Sign up to our Newsletter to be in with a chance to win a snazzy iPad and for all the latest...

  • Email updates
  • Regular features
  • Competitions and give aways