Jamie Heaslip returns for Ireland

Jamie Heaslip returns for Ireland
Jamie Heaslip returns for Ireland

Joe Schmidt makes one changes as Jamie Heaslip returns from injury for Ireland’s Six Nations clash with Wales at the Millennium Stadium on Saturday

Heaslip misssed Ireland’s win over England having suffered three cracked vertebrae in the win over France in round two. Jordi Murphy stepped in for the England match. Heaslip’s return to the side is the only change to the starting XV.

Johnny Sexton, who suffered a hamstring strain against England, is named at No 10.

Rob Kearney lines out at fullback, with Tommy Bowe and Simon Zebo is named on the wings. Jared Payne starts at second centre, with Robbie Henshaw selected inside him at first centre.

Sexton is paired at half-back with scrum-half Conor Murray.

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
14. Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
13. Jared Payne (Ulster)
12. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)
11. Simon Zebo (Cork Con/Munster)
10. Johnny Sexton (Racing Metro)
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)

8. Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster)
7. Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster)
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)
5. Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster) captain
4. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
3. Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
1. Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

16. Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
17. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
18. Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster)
19. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
20. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
21. Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
22. Ian Madigan (Blackrock/Leinster)
23. Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster)



Sign in or create your account to join the discussion

Register now to keep up to date with all the latest:

  • Irish News
  • Sport
  • Community and Entertainment

Sign up to our Newsletter to be in with a chance to win a snazzy iPad and for all the latest...

  • Email updates
  • Regular features
  • Competitions and give aways