Grealish wait goes on


Martin O’Neill has named his 37-man Republic of Ireland squad to play Gibraltar and Georgia but there is no Jack Grealish as his intentions remain unclear.

Aston Villa star Grealish (19), born in Birmingham, played for Republic of Ireland up to Under-21 level but it has been reported that England Under-21 manager Gareth Southgate and senior boss Roy Hodgson are interested in securing his international future.

Manager Martin O’Neill said that he spoke to the player and his father and remains hopeful of convincing the midfielder that his international future lies with Ireland.

“The situation with Jack is that I had a conversation with him and his father a week or ten days ago. I thought it was pretty fruitful and, Jack, I think he will decide very, very shortly.

“This is not something for overnight. This will take him for the rest of his career at international level so I can understand that.

“He and his father agreed that it’s about time they were going to do something about. Fine, if he’s worth waiting for that in that sense, not necessarily for me, but for the future of ourselves then so be it. He’s got age on his side and a very decent talent.”

Bournemouth’s Eunan O’Kane, Alan Judge and Adam Rooney have also been included in the extended squad, which will be reduced ahead of assembling on the evening of 30 August.

Crystal Palace captain Damien Delaney is overlooked.

Republic of Ireland are fourth in their group after a disappointing 1-1 draw at home to Scotland and can afford to drop no more points.
Georgia gave the Irish a tough start to this group with only a late Aidne McGeady gaol securing all three points.

Republic of Ireland squad: David Forde, Shay Given, Keiren Westwood, Darren Randolph, Rob Elliot, Richard Keogh, Marc Wilson, Seamus Coleman, Cyrus Christie, John O’Shea, Alex Pearce, Ciaran Clark, Paul McShane, Stephen Ward, Greg Cunningham, Jeff Hendrick, Harry Arter, Glenn Whelan, James McCarthy,Eunan O’Kane, Aiden McGeady, James McClean, Alan Judge, Robbie Brady, Anthony Pilkington, Stephen Quinn, David Meyler, Wes Hoolahan, Robbie Keane, Shane Long, Daryl Murphy, Jon Walters, Kevin Doyle, Anthony Stokes, David McGoldrick, Adam Rooney, Simon Cox.


Sign in or create your account to join the discussion

Register now to keep up to date with all the latest:

  • Irish News
  • Sport
  • Community and Entertainment

Sign up to our Newsletter to be in with a chance to win a snazzy iPad and for all the latest...

  • Email updates
  • Regular features
  • Competitions and give aways