GAA announce 2014 Hurling All-Stars nominations

Richie Hogan, Séamus Callanan and TJ Reid will fight for Player of the Year
Richie Hogan, Séamus Callanan and TJ Reid will fight for Player of the Year

Kilkenny dominate the nominations for this year’s hurling All-Star awards, with no less than 13 inter-county players making the shortlist.

They are closely followed by beaten finalists Tipperary who receive 11, and the successful 15 candidates, along with Player of the Year Awards will be made at the All-Star banquet on October 24 in Dublin.

The remainder of the 45 places go to Limerick (7), Cork (6) Wexford (3), Dublin (2) and one apiece for Clare, Offaly and Galway.

The 2014 Hurling Nominations are as follows:


Darren Gleeson (Tipperary), Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny), Alan Nolan (Dublin).

Full backs

Cathal Barrett (Tipperary), JJ Delaney (Kilkenny), Séamus Hickey (Limerick), Richie McCarthy (Limerick), Stephen McDonnell (Cork), Paul Murphy (Kilkenny), Paddy Stapleton (Tipperary), Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny), Liam Ryan (Wexford).

Half backs

Kieran Bergin (Tipperary), Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny), Mark Ellis (Cork), Brendan Maher (Tipperary), Pádraic Maher (Tipperary), Pádraic Walsh (Kilkenny), Liam Rushe (Dublin), Lorcán McLoughlin (Cork), Wayne McNamara (Limerick).


Paul Browne (Limerick), Lee Chin (Wexford), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Conor Fogarty (Kilkenny), Shane McGrath (Tipperary), James Ryan (Limerick).

Half forwards

Noel McGrath (Tipperary), Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny), Declan Hannon (Limerick), Conor Lehane (Cork), Patrick Maher (Tipperary), John O’Dwyer (Tipperary), Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Conor Cooney (Galway).

Full forwards

Alan Cadogan (Cork), Séamus Callanan (Tipperary), Shane Dowling (Limerick), Patrick Horgan (Cork), Conor McDonald (Wexford), Colin Fennelly (Kilkenny), Richie Power (Kilkenny), Conor McGrath (Clare), Brian Carroll (Offaly).

Young Player of the Year

Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)
Shane Dowling (Limerick)
Conor McDonald (Wexford)

Player of the Year

Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)
Séamus Callanan (Tipperary)
TJ Reid (Kilkenny)


Sign in or create your account to join the discussion

Register now to keep up to date with all the latest:

  • Irish News
  • Sport
  • Community and Entertainment

Sign up to our Newsletter to be in with a chance to win a snazzy iPad and for all the latest...

  • Email updates
  • Regular features
  • Competitions and give aways