Fulham Irish progress to county final

Fulham Irish 4-10
Parnell’s 0-08


Don’t be fooled by the score-line. 

Fulham Irish were the dominant force, led as usual by Lorcan Mulvey but Parnells display was far better than what the final result reflected.

A late rally by Fulham ensured the win but Parnell’s were in touch until the final ten minutes.

Trainer, and former Kerry inter-county player Anthony Gleeson said as much at the finish.

He said: “We were three points down with ten minutes to go. Greg Crowley missed a shot at goal and second later they were down to the pitch and scored a point.  Our lads dropped their heads after that. Overall I have no complaints – TCG was the better team and it is championship football after-all.”

Crowley miss occurred early in the second –half.  At that stage Parnells were trailing by just two points  and only for two  first half goals, one each by Mulvey and Declan Gilhooly the situation could have been much different.

Parnell’s were far more ruthless with their points,  Seamus Stenson scored three times from placed balls while Eanna Flaherty did a double from play.

Niall Corkery Parnell’s other first half scorer.

Meanwhile Mulvey opened Fulham’s account with  superb goal. He steam-rolled his way from midfield and burst through several Parnell’s defenders to bomb the ball into the roof of Evan Byrnes net.

Fulham second goal, came when they were trailing by one point, Declan Gilhooly the executer this time.  The sides entered the break level.

Fulham were much more decisive in part two, Mulvey again opened the coring from a free kick  shortly after Crowley’s miss and there after it was one-way traffic.

A late , fourth , goal by Gilholly sealed the deal for the 2011 champions to set up a replay of that very final against TCG.

Parnell’s:Evan Byrne, Paul Holland, Stephen O’Keefee, Kevin Culhane, Steve Devine, Brendan Cleary, Richie Dempsey, Martin Carroll, Greg Crowley, Seamus Stenson, Niall Corkery, Eanna Flaherty, Alan Muarry, John Booth, Jarlath Branagan

Fulham Irish: Derek Butler, John Gillfedder, Steven Walsh, Ciaran O’Connor, Michael Walsh, Shane Mulligan, Aidan Savage, David O’Connor, Lorcan Mulvey, Dean O’Neill, Michael Murphy, Seamus Hannon, Declan Gillhooly, Aidan Hickey, Michael Walsh.




Sign in or create your account to join the discussion

Register now to keep up to date with all the latest:

  • Irish News
  • Sport
  • Community and Entertainment

Sign up to our Newsletter to be in with a chance to win a snazzy iPad and for all the latest...

  • Email updates
  • Regular features
  • Competitions and give aways