14-man Harps hold off Moindearg

dulwich harps moindearg 14-men junior championship

Toureen Mangan JFC Group B

Dulwich Harps 1-13
Moindearg 2-09

By Damian Dolan
At The Scrubs

On paper this looked a banker for Dulwich Harps, but thankfully sport isn’t played on paper and what we got instead was a compelling clash that went right to the wire.

Dulwich had 19 points to spare when the sides met in Division 3 just six weeks ago, but on Saturday at The Scrubs the first half sending off of Harps midfielder Michael Clarke proved a great leveller, and ensured there would be no repeat of that scoreline.

The Division 3 runners up and McArdle Cup winners had looked the better side up until that point, and despite playing into a strong wind they’d monopolised the ball.

Their patient build up approach saw them lead 0-5 to 0-3 after 22 minutes, with Clarke’s strike then coming back off the post and Darren White’s low shot on the follow up beating Mark Terry, only to hit the same piece of woodwork.

Ill-luck aside, Dulwich might have had a handy lead as half-time neared, but far too often they failed to find an end product, and it came back to haunt them a minute before the break.

dulwich harps moindearg 14-men junior championship

Moindearg had been hanging in there grimly, and they delivered a sucker punch when Ivan Casey challenged Niall Russell for Alan Dunne’s ball in, and the ball ended up in the back of the Dulwich net.

Casey reeled away in celebration, while Clarke saw red for his overzealous protests for a foul on his keeper.
If there was any fault to be laid at Niall Russell’s door, then he would more than make amends later in the game.

Suddenly Moindearg led 1-4 to 0-6, and it might have been more as Ciaran Staunton was played in, only to fire into the sidenetting.

For full match report pick up a copy of this week’s Irish World

DULWICH HARPS: Niall Russell; Dara Walsh, Daniel Lynch, Timothy Russell; Aaron Higgins, James McDermott, Sean Lavery; David Draper (0- 1), Michael Clarke (0-2); Ryan Morgan, Ronan Devlin (0-2), Juan Jose Porto; Ciaran Stone (1-6, 3f), Darren White (0-2), Enda Tuohy. SUBS: Keith Lynn for Porto, Ryan McGahan for Morgan.

MOINDEARG: Mark Terry; Shane Regan, Paul Mullins, Ciaran Staunton; Brian O’Malley, Frank Carr, Sean McDonagh; Ivan Casey (1-1f), Shane Tobin; Padraig Geary, Paddy Regan (0-2), Padraig Philbin; Ronan Conroy, Alan Dunne (0-5, 2f), Liam Philbin. SUBS: Kevin McLaughlin for Conroy, Darren Reynolds for Liam Philbin, Conor Conneely (1-1) for Reynolds, Liam Philbin for McDonagh, Cahir McBrearty for Geary, Geary for McBrearty.

You might also be interested in this article

London GAA Move Closer to Connacht Championship

Register now to keep up to date with all the latest:

  • Irish News
  • Sport
  • Community and Entertainment

Sign up to our Newsletter to be in with a chance to win a snazzy iPad and for all the latest...

  • Email updates
  • Regular features
  • Competitions and give aways