Croker glory for Warwickshire

Warwickshire 2-16
Longford 0-10.

Warwickshire made history when they won the Lory Meagher Cup Final against Longford at Croke Park on Saturday. An Enda Lyons goal had Warwickshire ahead at the end of an evenly-matched first half and they went on to pull away after the restart.

Warwickshire took less than a minute to open the scoring through Enda Lyons and they went on to lead by 0-5 to 0-1 after six minutes, with Seán Hennessey, Patrick Duggan and Michael Bermingham among the scorers.

Longford replied through frees from Eoin Donnellan and goalkeeper Éanna Daly, who also made a good save to deny Duggan, but Lyons raced through to send a low shot under Daly for the opening goal on 21 minutes.

Hawkeye was used for the first time in a hurling match just short of the half-hour mark, ruling that Hennessey’s ’65 had missed for Warwickshire’s first wide. Longford had the better of the closing minutes of the half to close the gap to four points (1-9 to 0-8).

Longford opened the second half with a brace of frees from Eoin Donnellan, but they failed to score in the final half-hour. Warwickshire, who saw a couple of goal chances cleared, were unable to put the game away until late on, but they started to pull away midway through the half with points by Hennessey, Conor Robbins, Alan Morrissey and Conal Maskey.

The game was well and truly won for the Exiles when a long-range effort from Eamon Gleeson dropped into the net.

Scorers for Warwickshire: E Lyons 1-3, S Hennessey 0-6 (3f, 2 ‘65s), E Gleeson 1-0, M Bermingham 0-2, P Duggan 0-2, C Maskey 0-1, C Robbins 0-1, A Morrissey 0-1

Scorers for Longford: E Donnellan 0-7 (6f), J O’Brien 0-2, É Daly 0-1 (f).

Warwickshire: T Goulding; B Bermingham, L Knocker, C Brough; D Kennedy, E Gleeson, C Maskey (Capt.); M Bermingham, A Morrissey; S Hennessey, P Duggan, C Robbins; C Behan, A O’Neill, E Lyons. Subs: R McEntee for A O’Neill (48), E McCabe for C Robbins (58), S Wallace for M Bermingham (60), D Sheehy for C Behan (67), D Kelly for A Morrissey (68). Temporary sub: S Wallace for D Kennedy (54-60).

Longford: É Daly; P McGarry, T Stakem, B Stakem; D Corcoran, T Roche, C Egan; C Finucane, R Donnellan; E Donnellan, K Connelly, D Tanner; K Murray, J Newman, J O’Brien (Capt.). Subs: M Coyle for R Donnellan (inj., 20), M Farrell for J Newman (46), G Moore for P McGarry (70), R Breslin for K Murray (71), K Cox for D Corcoran (71).

Referee: L McAuley (Antrim).


Sign in or create your account to join the discussion

Register now to keep up to date with all the latest:

  • Irish News
  • Sport
  • Community and Entertainment

Sign up to our Newsletter to be in with a chance to win a snazzy iPad and for all the latest...

  • Email updates
  • Regular features
  • Competitions and give aways